LibGuides: Databases by Subject: Biology

Off-Campus Access

You will need your current Limestone University username and password (the same information you use to access your LCPortal and Limestone University email) to access articles and eBooks in the Library's online databases. If you need assistance, contact us:

Drop by the Library,
Ask us a question at Ask A Librarian,
Call us at (864) 488-4612, or
Email us at library@limestone.edu.

Free Resources

SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library)
The access to adequate and up-to-date scientific and technical information is essential for the economic and social development, specially to support decision making process in planning, formulation and implementation of public policies and to support professional development and practice.

Related Guides

A to Z Databases
by Lizah Ismail Last Updated Feb 27, 2025 153 views this year
BI 282 Genetics
by Chloe Hoyle Last Updated Apr 15, 2024 0 views this year
BI 430 Ecology
by Chloe Hoyle Last Updated Jun 5, 2024 4 views this year
BI 459 Capstone
by Chloe Hoyle Last Updated Jun 5, 2024 0 views this year
Biology
by Chloe Hoyle Last Updated Jun 24, 2024 17 views this year

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, and earth & environmental sciences.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Full Text covers a wide variety of applied science specialties—from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering. Includes full-text content and in-depth indexing and abstracts from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories and conference proceedings.

Biochemistry
Biochemistry publishes results of original research that contributes significantly to the understanding of the mechanism of biological phenomena in terms of molecular structures and/or functions.
Biological Abstracts
Access global journal coverage of every area of the life sciences. Includes over 4,200 journals from 100 countries, 350,000 records added annually.

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This database is a powerful working, learning, and research tool that provide full text articles from over 100 online journals dating as far back as 1997 and abstracts of more than 380 publications dating back to 1983.
Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
Contains a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
Full Text.
All Gale Databases (Gale Power Search) This link opens in a new window
Gale PowerSearch is a search platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information.

General Science Full Text
"This database provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals back to 1984."
GreenFILE
Includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
GREENR
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
Journal of Chemical Education
The Journal of Chemical Education (JOC) provides access to original contributions of fundamental research in all branches of the theory and practice of organic chemistry.
Journal of Organic Chemistry
The Journal of Organic Chemistry provides peer-reviewed scientific journal articles of fundamental research in organic and bioorganic chemistry.

LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of test-preparation tools, skill-building materials, and other career and life skills resources.
Recently added:
CLEP® Introductory Business Law Practice Exams 1 & 2
DSST® Introduction to Law Enforcement Practice Tests 1 & 2
DSST® Criminal Justice Practice Tests 1 & 2
DSST® Personal Finance Practice Tests 1 & 2
Human Anatomy and Physiology Practice Questions: Sets 1 & 2
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect hosts over 19 million articles and chapters, spanning 2,650 peer-reviewed journals, 43,000 ebooks, and more than 600 open access publications covering physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, social sciences and humanities, and health sciences. It’s a valuable resource for researchers across academia, government, and corporate organizations. If you’re looking for detailed information efficiently, ScienceDirect is a reliable choice.

Science in Context
Science In Context reflects curriculum trends and focuses on key concepts taught in school classrooms, including: Earth Science, History of Science, Life Science, Physical Science, Science and Technology, Science as Inquiry, Space Science, and more.
Science Reference Center
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. including encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Scientific American Archives, 1948-2011 (PASCAL) This link opens in a new window
Scientific American is the world's premier magazine of scientific discovery and technological innovation for the general public. Readers turn to it for a deep understanding of how science and technology can influence human affairs and illuminate the natural world.
Provided by PASCAL.

Stat!Ref - Anatomy & Physiology Online (Primal Pictures)
This online resource covers all a student needs to know and learn for a two semester Anatomy & Physiology course. Includes 20 modules with 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of ageing on each body systems, quizzes and much more.

Databases by Subject: Biology

Off-Campus Access

Free Resources

Related Guides

Databases

If you are experiencing problems with our guides contact the Library at library@limestone.edu.