Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you are experiencing problems with our guides, please contact Janet S. Ward,
email@example.com, Associate Professor and Web Services Librarian.
**For off campus access, you'll be prompted to enter your Limestone email username & password**
Scholarly versus Popular Periodicals
Find Articles in General/Multi-Subject Databases
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Gale's Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. Covers the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Find Medical/Health Related Articles Here
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
Provides full text for more than 620 journals and 218 books/monographs. With full text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
“A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources."
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nursing/Academic Edition includes more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on the nursing and allied health fields but also covers many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals.
Health Reference Center Academic
Provides access to articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.
Find Articles in Science Related Databases
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Web of Science is a research platform that gives you access to objective content and powerful tools to search, track, measure and collaborate in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
Not all articles are in full text. This database contains full text and abstracts. Journals published/distributed by Elsevier. Coverage is strongest for biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, mathematics, medicine and physics. Also includes many online periodical subscriptions.
AGRICOLA encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, and earth & environmental sciences.
Access global journal coverage of every area of the life sciences. Includes over 4,200 journals from 100 countries, 350,000 records added annually.
General Science Full Text
"This database provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals back to 1984."
Includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
This is an Open Access Resource. Authoritative peer-reviewed journals in biotechnology, biomedical research/life sciences, clinical medicine and surgery, and law. Browse journals by title or discipline, search full text, and manage favorite journals and papers.
Science in Context
Science In Context reflects curriculum trends and focuses on key concepts taught in school classrooms, including: Earth Science, History of Science, Life Science, Physical Science, Science and Technology, Science as Inquiry, Space Science, and more.
Science Reference Center
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. including encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.