LibGuides: Databases by Subject: Criminal Justice

CQ Researcher

Supreme Court Collection

·Find summaries and analysis of more than four thousand major decisions, as well as links to the full case text

·Use the "Justice Role Finder," "Justice Opinion Analysis," and "Voting Bloc Analysis" as powerful tools to research justices' voting records and opinion alignments

·Browse cases by topic—including contemporary and controversial issues like the death penalty, privacy, and free speech

·Research documentation of public opinion of the Court, appropriations history, judicial legislation, chronologies of major cases and justices, and judicial staffing

·Compare constitutions from one hundred nations

Off-Campus Access

You will need your current Limestone University username and password (the same information you use to access your LCPortal and Limestone University email) to access articles and eBooks in the Library's online databases. If you need assistance, contact us:

Drop by the Library,
Ask us a question at Ask A Librarian,
Call us at (864) 488-4612, or
Email us at library@limestone.edu.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.

American Doctoral Dissertations
The newly enhanced database includes more than 172,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 80,000 new citations for theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present. The new citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed, such as OhioLINK, Rochester Institute of Technology and North Carolina State University.
Researchers can access the free database at www.opendissertations.com.
more...less...
Free resource.
Associates Program Source
- This link opens in a new window
This database covers subjects as wide-ranging as: alcohol & drug abuse counseling, audiology, biotechnology, computer & data processing, CAD, cosmetology, electrical technology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement & criminal justice, paralegal studies, robotics, travel & tourism, veterinary assisting, and many other areas of study.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
Full Text.
Ebooks (electronic books) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law, this database provides complete, full-text coverage of the most important English-language legal information, including access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security. ISCTRC also combines deep background from scholarly writings with expert commentary from a variety of organizations, agencies and publisher and timely reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social and technical spectrum.
Opposing Viewpoints (DISCUS) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of pro and con viewpoint articles on contemporary social issues, topic overviews, primary sources, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs. Subjects: Current Issues
Full Text
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles. Also includes FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals. Also includes full text for 245 pamphlets.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. Includes deep backfiles and stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Also provides access to the Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete™ (PSC) contains full text for more than 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. PSC has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
TOPICsearch (DISCUS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

Related Subject Guides

A to Z Databases
by Janet Ward, MLIS Last Updated Apr 15, 2024 121 views this year
CJ 497/498 Criminal Justice Research Methods/Senior Seminar
by Chloe Hoyle Last Updated Mar 28, 2024 2 views this year
Criminal Justice
by Chloe Hoyle Last Updated Mar 13, 2024 15 views this year

Databases by Subject: Criminal Justice

CQ Researcher

Supreme Court Collection

Off-Campus Access

Databases

Related Subject Guides

If you are experiencing problems with our guides and databases, please contact ProfessorJanet S. Ward, jward@limestone.edu, Assistant Director of the Library and Web Services Librarian.