Skip to main content

Limestone College Digital Collections (LCDC): About

The Limestone College Digital Collections (LCDC) is an Open Access platform showcasing the digital collections of Limestone College via the Shared Shelf Commons.

About the Limestone College Digital Collections (LCDC)

Introduction

The Limestone College Digital Collections library (LCDC) is an Open Access platform showcasing the digital collections of Limestone College via the Public Collections in ArtSTOR via JSOR Forum (Shared Shelf). These collections include:
  • the Students Works Collection 
  • the Faculty Teaching,Research and Creative Works Collections 

Mission

The LCDC functions to promote the diverse works of the Limestone College community and to encourage a free exchange of scholarly and academic information on the Limestone campus and beyond, potentially enabling both inter-disciplinary and inter-institutional collaborations for faculty, staff and students. As an Open Access (OA) platform, selected Works in the various Collections in LCDC are accessible to the public and searchable by various online search engines. The LCDC is managed by the Limestone College library and administered by the library with input from Limestone College faculty.

The Student Works Collection represents the scholarly, research and creative works of Limestone undergraduate and graduate students including conference papers, poster sessions, presentations, studio art, creative writing, oral history, student publications (such as the Candleabra) and any other student works that have been approved by their professors (see Submission and License Agreement).

The Faculty Teaching, Research and Creative Works Collections represent the academic, scholarly, research and creative works of Limestone faculty including conference papers, poster sessions, presentations, studio art, creative writing, oral history and course materials (see Submission and License Agreement).

Copyright and Terms of Use

Contributors to the Student Works and Faculty Teaching, Research and Creative Works Collections in LCDC must comply with the Submission and License Agreement which states that the contributor retains all rights to the Work submitted to LCDC or has written permission from the rights holder of the submitted Work. By accepting the Submission and License Agreement, the contributor grants Limestone College the non-exclusive right to distribute the Work. Furthermore, as right owner of the work, the contributor may revoke this non-exclusive license by contacting the Limestone College library at library@limestone.edu.

LCDC adheres to all other intellectual property rights and supports the fair use of copyrighted materials (Section 107 of Title 17 in the U.S. Code). Any use of Works in LCDC beyond personal use and fair use that falls under the U.S. copyright law requires the expressed written permission of the copyright holder or must be specified by a Creative Commons License.

Creative Commons Licenses

The LCDC encourages the use of Creative Commons Licensing as a means to promote the sharing of Works while retaining the copyright of the Works. This license is optional and contributors are able to choose a Creative Commons license during the submission process. For more information on the Creative Commons Licenses, please view: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/

Acknowledgement

LCDC and the use of Shared Shelf is made possible by Limestone College's membership in the Consortium on Digital Resources for Teaching and Research which receives funding support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the endorsement of the Council of Independent Colleges (CIC). 

 

Contact Information

Lizah Ismail's picture
Lizah Ismail
Contact:
Lizah Ismail, Director of the Library/Associate Professor
A.J. Eastwood Library, Limestone College, 1115 College Drive, Gaffney, SC 29340
864-488-4610
If you are experiencing problems with our guides, please contact Janet S. Ward, jward@limestone.edu, Associate Professor and Web Services Librarian.