LibGuides: Business Resource Guide: International Business

Country Data

Culture Grams (DISCUS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams helps you and your students discover the world with concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations -- from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

GlobalEDGE
Funded in part by the U.S. Department of Education Title VI B grant, globalEDGE delivers a comprehensive research tool for academics, students and businesspeople. Connect with over 47,000 people using the gE Network while tapping into a directory of over 5000 quality resources. globalEDGE provides tools and resources to efficiently research nearly any international business question you may have.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a comprehensive statistics portal that empowers users with data, insights, and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries. Statista provides valuable and comparable market data for various domains, including Social media usage, E-commerce worldwide, Artificial intelligence (AI), Netflix viewership, global inflation rates, electric vehicle adoption, sustainability trends, gaming statistics, fast fashion insights, and more. Statista offers a vast collection of statistics, reports, and insights from 22,500 sources. Topics span from agriculture to video games, covering essential areas like GDP, health, population, poverty, and terrorism. You can explore trends, forecasts, and expert research condensed into easily digestible reports.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a comprehensive statistics portal that empowers users with data, insights, and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries. Statista provides valuable and comparable market data for various domains, including Social media usage, E-commerce worldwide, Artificial intelligence (AI), Netflix viewership, global inflation rates, electric vehicle adoption, sustainability trends, gaming statistics, fast fashion insights, and more. Statista offers a vast collection of statistics, reports, and insights from 22,500 sources. Topics span from agriculture to video games, covering essential areas like GDP, health, population, poverty, and terrorism. You can explore trends, forecasts, and expert research condensed into easily digestible reports.

African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA)
The African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) is a United States Trade Act that significantly enhances U.S. market access for (currently) 40 Sub-Saharan African (SSA) countries.
Market Potential Index (MPI) for Emerging Markets
This indexing study is conducted by MSU-IBC to help companies compare the Emerging Markets with each other on several dimensions. Eight dimensions are chosen to represent the market potential of a country over a scale of 1 to 100. Each dimension is measured using various indicators, and are weighted in determining their contribution to the Overall Market Potential Index.
OCED's International Trade and Balance of Payments
The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world. Includes global trade statistics, data and indicators.
UN Data
Provides global economic data and information among other information.
World Bank
The World Bank provides country profiles and economic indicators for more than 200 countries. Indicators cover everything from economics to education to social development.

TradeStats (US Dept of Commerce)
Annual and quarterly trade stats
Export.gov
Introduction to trade data including links to import/export and trade stats.
Country Commercial Guides (CCG)
Search for Country Commercial Guides (CCG) by report type, country and industry. Each report provides trade regulations. Keep your search broad because there is not a CCG for every country or industry.
Doing Business (World Bank and IFC)
The Doing Business Project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.

In addition, Doing Business offers detailed subnational reports, which exhaustively cover business regulation and reform in different cities and regions within a nation. These reports provide data on the ease of doing business, rank each location, and recommend reforms to improve performance in each of the indicator areas. Emphasis is on developing countries.
Doing Business (Special Reports)
Doing Business (Business Planet)
The content on this website has migrated to other Financial and Private Sector Development websites. Use the links to access our major data products and the links to the right to access publications, toolkits and other resources.