LibGuides: ID 201 Transition Success: Find Subject Specific Articles

ID 201 webinar (archived)

Watch a previously recorded webinar for ID 201. This webinar introduces attendees to an overview of library resources and services. Presentation includes accessing, basic searching and obtaining library resources. Recorded July 29, 2014.

Find News Articles Here

AP News Monitor
- This link opens in a new window
AP News provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis.

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NewsBank's Access World News Research Collection contains current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more with the world's largest collection of full-text news sources. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 4,700 sources.

Newspaper Source Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative work-space with shared folders and annotated documents.

Find Social/Current Issues Articles Here

Opposing Viewpoints (DISCUS) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of pro and con viewpoint articles on contemporary social issues, topic overviews, primary sources, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs. Subjects: Current Issues
Full Text

New York Times Topics
"Each topic page collects all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files" about a range of topics.

Gale in Context: Opposing ViewPoints (DISCUS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
More than 400 reference book titles and over 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles

TOPICsearch
Explores social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

Search Multi-Subject/General Databases

Search Various Subject Specific Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

GreenFILE
Includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Military and Government Collection
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent offering current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
Research Starters - Sociology
Research Starters Sociology articles are broken down into twenty-six categories, each of which contains between four and thirty-five article topics: aging & elderly issues, culture, history of sociology, social movements & collective behavior, sociology of religion, etc.

Humanities Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
Indexing: 1984 - present, Abstracts: March 1994 - present. Fulltext: January 1995 - present (96 titles).
Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This source indexes about 400 English-language periodicals in a wide variety of subjects related to the Social Sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work etc. Indexing goes back to 1983.
February 1983 to the present. Updated monthly.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

Women's Studies International
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies International™ covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to the present.

ID 201 Transition Success: Find Subject Specific Articles

ID 201 webinar (archived)

Find News Articles Here

Find Social/Current Issues Articles Here

Search Multi-Subject/General Databases

Search Various Subject Specific Databases

If you are experiencing problems with our guides and databases, please contact ProfessorJanet S. Ward, jward@limestone.edu, Assistant Director of the Library and Web Services Librarian.