Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you are experiencing problems with our guides, please contact Janet S. Ward,
firstname.lastname@example.org, Associate Professor and Web Services Librarian.
Try these sample searches:
- race and income
- (gays or lesbians) and policy
- minorities and education
*Hint: You may want to use the Quotation marks to search for a phrase or to narrow your search
''populations at ris''
Recommended Databases for Health & Medicine
Provides full text for more than 620 journals and 218 books/monographs. With full text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
DSM - 5 (fifth edition)
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition. The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers.
Health Reference Center Academic
Provides access to articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nursing/Academic Edition includes more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on the nursing and allied health fields but also covers many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals.
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
“A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources."
Find Social/Current Issues Articles Here
These databases provide a wealth of sources that explore a variety of social and current issues. They are also good starting points for browsing or choosing a topic for research on a social issue or problem. Especially recommended for EN 101 or EN 102 students.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints (formerly Opposing Viewpoints in Context)
Online library of current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors. Electronic access to Gales' Information Plus reference series of statistics, government data, information on legislation and more.
Explores social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
Points of View Reference Center
Contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including essays, magazines, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary sources & reference books.
New York Times Topics
"Each topic page collects all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files" about a range of topics.
Global Issues in Context
Provides international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
Issues and Controversies
Issues & Controversies helps students and researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
Search Subject Specific Databases
Use these subject databases to narrow your search to specific fields, such as Criminal Justice, Education, Sociology, and Political Science. For complete list of databases, visit the Database Guide.
Social Sciences Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
SocINDEX offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including criminology and criminal justice.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Provides coverage of more than 550 full text journals. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Provides index and full text to journal articles, government studies, books, dissertations, and other material on education and related fields.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
Contains summaries of the more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
Military and Government Collection
A collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent offering current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
Political Science Complete
Contains full text for more than 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals. Has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
Find News Articles Here
AP News Monitor
AP News provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis.
World News Digest
For more than 75 years, World News Digest has been a go-to resource for context and background on key issues of both historical events and breaking news. With more than 300,000 original articles and a vast archive covering every major event since its inception, this database offers concise summaries of current events and clearly written essays on the top issues of the day.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis)
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative work-space with shared folders and annotated documents.
NewsBank's Access World News Research Collection contains current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more with the world's largest collection of full-text news sources. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 4,700 sources.