Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History - Primary Resources

Subscription Online Resources

List our history databases here.

 

Free Online Resources

Google Books - books with copyright restrictions are reproduced as 'snippets', or excerpts. Books in the public domain are usually reproduced in their entirety. 

Hathi Trust - consists of digitized collections contributed by member libraries, hosted by the University of Michigan.

Internet Archive - digitized books, government documents, audio and video, web sites, and more.

Project Gutenberg - over 45,000 free, public domain, ebooks.

 American Memory Project (Library of Congress) - maps, photgraphs, newspapers, govenrment documents, diairies and correspondence of immigrants, travellers, soldiers, etc. and more.

Digital Public Library of America - online collections of books, images, maps and more.

The Making of America - courtesy of Cornell University. A free, online, fulltext collection of nineteenth century American monographs, magazines and periodicals.

University of Wisconsin Digital Collections - primary resources for U.S. and Wisconsin History. 

 Denver Public Library Digital Collections - Denver and Colorado History in photographs, maps and documents.

New York Public Library Digital Collections - images, prints, videos, maps, and documents on a wide variety of historical topics.

THe National Archives - 

National Archives Documents Collections 

U.S. Government Printing Office 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Janet Ward, MLIS's picture
Janet Ward, MLIS
Contact:
AJ Eastwood Library
Limestone University
1115 College Drive
Gaffney, SC 29340
https://www.limestone.edu/academics/associate/
computer-science/information-technology
Office: 864-488-8351 Cell: 864-492-8079
Website
If you are experiencing problems with our guides, please contact Janet S. Ward, jward@limestone.edu, Associate Professor and Web Services Librarian.