It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing Reference Guide
This guide contains nursing resources and information.
If you are looking for peer-reviewed articles on nursing topics, try the Ovid Nursing Database, the first database on the opposing column. Ovid has a lot of journals that are nursing specific. The databases just below Ovid have other nursing-specific resources. Many of the other science databases contain relevant articles for scientific research (think biology projects).
For more general nursing and provider care resources, see the Cochrane Library and some of the health resources at the bottom of the page.
Full Text with backfiles. This exclusive collection gives you over 80 of today's top nursing journals used by nurses, nursing students, and health professionals around the world on a daily basis as well as a premier nursing and allied health database.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition. The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers.
CINAHL Complete® is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®.
Upgraded from CINAHL with Full Text to CINAHL Complete.
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Full Text. MEDLINE provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Searches citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE contains all citations published in Index Medicus, and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index and Index to Dental Literature.
1966 - present. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Updated weekly.
Includes full text. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 periodical titles related to nursing and allied health. Over 715 of these titles include the fulltext. The database also includes more than 12,000 fulltext dissertations, videos from Medcom, Inc., multicultural reports from CultureGrams and study paths. This nursing collection also contains hundreds of full-text reference books, 200 animations from Blausen Medical’s Human Atlas, contains all major body systems, search results returned in tabs that correlate to the nursing process, disease and drug overviews, sample care plans, and a Nursing Toolbox.
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Free Open Source content. Contains some full-text.
Includes full text. Journals published/distributed by Elsevier. Coverage is strongest for biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, mathematics, medicine and physics. Also includes many online periodical subscriptions.
Provides high quality health care data for both providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating at all levels of the medical profession. Some full text articles are available.
MeSH is a controlled search vocabulary useful for conducting research in nursing and the related sciences. Use the materials on this website to familiarize yourself with MeSH searching. Databases such as PubMed and the Cochrane Library, for example, allow searching using MeSH vocabulary. Tutorials are available.
This full text, multi-source database provides single-search access to the wide variety of health information sources in Health Reference Center plus 40 full text nursing and allied health journals. All in a single, easy-to-use database, Health Reference Center—Academic integrates the full text of respected nursing, allied health, and medical journals; consumer health magazines; reference books; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; referral information; and topical overviews.
Alt HealthWatch contains hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Full-text titles include American Acupuncturist, American Homeopath, Gerson Healing Newsletter, Health & Homeopathy, JOY: The Journal of Yoga, Massage Magazine, Natural Life, Reiki News, Today's Chiropractic Lifestyle, Yoga Journal and many others.
Covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
