LibGuides: MK 335 Integrated Marketing Communications: Consumer Behavior/Market Research

Market Research

Market and Marketing Research
"MarketResearch.com is the most comprehensive collection of market intelligence products and services on the Web. We offer reports from over 720 top publishers and update our collection daily to provide you with instant online access to world's most complete and current database of expert insights on global industries, companies, products, and trends. Requires Free regisration."
Marketing Basics
From AllBusiness.com - includes marketing strategies, plans and articles on current research and practices.

Media

Zap2it
Neilsen's ratings (daily, weekly, monthly) and other ratings information available here.
Nielsen's Ratings
Provides not only TV ratings but ratings and trends for the Internet, Mobile tools, DVDs, Games, Books, etc.
AdMeasure: Consumer Insights/Media Habits
Provides information and data on the media habits of consumers. Also includes access to data on other consumer insights such as Product Usage. Data obtained from the Gfk MRI Survey of the American Consumer.

Consumer Behavior

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research
Consumer Expenditure Survey (US Dept of Labor)
The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Census Data (Population, Housing, Economic and Geographic Information)
MarketResearch.com
List Demographic categories including age, gender, lifestyle, leisure pursuits, etc. Free registration is required.
Mintel - Market Intelligence.
"Mintel provides you with the Intelligence you need, in time to stay ahead of the market." Includes detailed reports on consumers and markets, including demographic and statistical information, trends and forecasts. You must register; registration is free. Mintel is independently owned.
Survey of Consumers
From the University of Michigan and Thomas Reuters.

E-Books

Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand

Analyzes household spending in the United States on numerous products and services by age, income, household type, race and Hispanic origin, region of residence, and educational attainment of householder.

American Buyers: Demographics of Shopping

American Buyers: Demographics of Shopping is a groundbreaking new guide to buying patterns, essential information in these difficult economic times. Its weekly and quarterly data show you how many households buy certain products and services and how much buyers pay for them, all broken down by the demographics that count--age, household income, household type, race and Hispanic origin, region of residence, and education.

Ethics in Marketing and Communications : Towards a Global Perspective

Discusses business ethics and the social responsibility of business.

Lifestyle Marketing: Reaching the new American consumer

Because buyers' behaviors are so important to lifestyle market segmentation strategies, this book demonstrates how such trends as cross-shopping and the blurring of gender roles can be accounted for by one's overall marketing strategy.