EN 299 African American Film History: Related Websites

A project of Riverbends Genealogical & Historical Society (www.Riverbends.org). The "race movie" or "race film" was a film genre which existed in the United States between about 1915 and 1950. It consisted of films produced for an all-black audience, featuring black casts. In all, approximately five hundred race films were produced.

Under Topics, choose African American History and Culture. "Encyclopedia Smithsonian: African American History and Culture features a wealth of information, including a list of links, exhibitions, and recommended readings."

From the Library of Congress collections

"Relying on the expertise of distinguished curators and scholars, Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation and scholarship on the global black experience. Users worldwide can find, in this virtual Schomburg Center, exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora."

From PBS - resource on African American history and culture

"BlackPast.org, an online reference center makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location on the Internet. These materials include an online encyclopedia of over 1,500 entries, the complete transcript of over 125 speeches given between 1789 and 2008, over 100 full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines and four gateway pages with links to 50 digital archive collections."