CJ 497/498 Criminal Justice Research Methods/Senior Seminar: Websites

If you are not able to access the full text version of articles, submit an Interlibrary Loan Request Form and we will request the item on your behalf from another institution. These requests are typically filled within 4-8 business days.

“Page is maintained by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts on behalf of the U.S. Courts. The purpose of this site is to function as a clearinghouse for information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.”

Search Supreme Court files, view recent decisions, and more.

“Prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.”

Apply for a grant, help a crime victim, locate a prisoner, submit a complaint, get a job, and many other resources.

Look under Program Areas (bottom left) in order to be directed to resources regarding each Justice Program (courts, juvenile justice, victims of crimes, and more).

Provides a fact sheet, state by state information, and much more on the death penalty.

"The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. GPO Access contains Congressional Record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present."

“Administered by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice.”

From the State Dept., includes facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.

"Provides national leadership, coordination, and resources to prevent and respond to juvenile delinquency and victimization."

Statistics about crimes, victims, law enforcement, courts, sentencing, and corrections.The Bureau of Justice Statistis (BJS) is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

Crime and justice data from The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research at the University of Michigan. The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is the place to discover, access, and analyze data on crime and justice. NACJD hosts several large-scale datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).

Annually published source including statistics on population, health, education, government finance, social welfare, income, employment, commerce, and criminal justice in the United States. Available from 1879 to 2012.

Links to information about Freedom of Information Act, the Electronic Reading Room, Reports & Publications page, and more. Check out Use Our Resources (left hand side, click on Researchers).

Contains scanned FBI files and links for FOIA requests. The Vault, the new Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Library, contains more than 6,700 documents and other media. Many of these items have been digitized for the purpose of increasing access.

View History, Fact Sheets, 15 most wanted list, and more.

“Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) is a principal law enforcement agency within the United States Department of Justice dedicated to preventing terrorism, reducing violent crime, and protecting our Nation.”

United States Customs and Border Protection. History, fact sheets, statistics & accomplishments, and more.

U.S. ICE is an agency of the Department of Homeland Security.