Find Company Information (Old) - BA 501 - Group Dynamics

Business Databases at a glance (Company Information)

Databases that contain General information on Companies, Stocks, and Business Leaders:

Including raw data and company reports
Official 10-k Reports
Company Profile and Leadership Profiles

Databases that contain full text articles:

Includes Peer-reviewed articles and Trade Journal publications
SWOT Analyses and other company reports

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

ABI/Inform and Business Databases

Includes Peer-reviewed articles and Trade Journal publications
SWOT Analyses and other company reports

ABI/Inform Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Primarily an academic database covering business, management, and economics. Strengths: Scholarly Research: Provides access to academic journals, dissertations, and conference papers. Market Research: Includes industry reports, market trends, and case studies. Company News: Tracks news related to companies and industries. Use Case: Ideal for academic research, literature reviews, and staying informed about business trends. This database does not cover financial data and company profiles compared to IBISWorld.

MBA resource
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.

Company Data

Databases that contain General information on Companies, Stocks, and Business Leaders:

Including raw data and company reports
Official 10-k Reports
Company Profile and Leadership Profiles

Mergent Online (now Market Atlas) This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online, now Mergent Atlas, concentrates on company information, including financials, executives, and industry analysis. Strengths: Company Profiles: Detailed company profiles with financial data, key personnel, and industry insights. Competitor Analysis: Helps identify competitors and understand their strengths and weaknesses. Sales and Marketing Intelligence: Useful for lead generation and prospecting. Use Case: Valuable for sales teams, marketers, and business development professionals.
Use IBISWorld if you are looking for in-depth industry analysis.
Resource for MBA students.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information. It offers online access to a variety of research-related products, including detailed overviews of global industries. In-depth information about major companies across various sectors and insights into individual stocks and their performance. The Outlook: Analysis and forecasts for economic and financial trends. Mutual Fund Reports: Data on mutual funds. For non-business students, NetAdvantage also includes a Financial Education section with tools for understanding personal finance.
Industry Surveys; Stock Reports; Company Profiles

Nexis Uni Academic

Most company entries contain:

Overview (including hierarchy, i.e., parent & subsidiaries)
News articles (including news by region of the world)
Financials
Legal Information (cases)
Analyst Reports

You can also Compare Companies.

US Securities and Exchange Commission (Documents)

Edgar This link opens in a new window
Corporate reports for over 8,500 companies- 10K, 10Q, 8Q, Schedule 13 G files, Letters to Stockholders, Prospecti, etc. Also SEC Digest, Press Releases, Congressional Testimony and Special Studies.
This is a free online source.

Company Information Overview

Welcome to the Company Information Section. Each business database gathers information a little differently and has different options for limiting and using the information it contains. When researching a company or an industry, it is usually a good idea to use more than one database to find information.

A quick link panel is provided below to the left. See the individual box for each database on this page for descriptive information about what it contains.

Contact a member of the library staff for help in navigating, choosing, or citing the business databases: library@limestone.edu.

Looking for industry information? Some of these databases include industry information -- see the Industry Information tab (above) for the most complete and relevant listing of industry information databases.

BA 501 - Group Dynamics: Find Company Information (Old)