LibGuides: RE 205 Christian Ethics and Contemporary Issues: Find Religion Articles

Find Social/Current Issues Articles Here

Opposing Viewpoints (DISCUS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of pro and con viewpoint articles on contemporary social issues, topic overviews, primary sources, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs. Subjects: Current Issues
Full Text

New York Times Topics
"Each topic page collects all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files" about a range of topics.

Gale in Context: Opposing ViewPoints (DISCUS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
More than 400 reference book titles and over 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles

TOPICsearch
Explores social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

Off-Campus Access

You will need your current Limestone University username and password (the same information you use to access your LCPortal and Limestone University email) to access articles and eBooks in the Library's online databases. If you need assistance, contact us:

Drop by the Library,
Ask us a question at Ask A Librarian,
Call us at (864) 488-4612, or
Email us at library@limestone.edu.

Find Journal Articles and More here!

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

Religion and Philosophy Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collection™ is a comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Religious and Theological Abstracts

Research Tips

Before choosing a topic for your research, be sure you understand the assignment. Look over any information that your professor gave you and ask for clarification if you are unsure about what is expected of you. Also choose a topic that interests you.

Research topics work well when they are posed as a question. A Good rule of thumb is that the shorter the paper, the more narrow the topic or question should be.

Keep in mind that the research process is not linear, but cyclical - you may have to come back and "tweek" your research question as you start learning more about your topic.