LibGuides: EN 105 Fundamentals of Public Speaking: Search for Topics

Guides, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, Dictionaries

CREDO Reference (DISCUS)
Credo Reference provides access to a broad variety of reference sources from dictionaries to encyclopedias covering topics from the arts to the sciences. It has an image collection, maps, and audio pronunciation files. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.

Biography (Gale in Context)
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.
Biography Reference Bank
This resource offers the in-depth, original profiles of Current Biography and World Authors series, the through periodicals coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. Biography Reference Bank contains biographical full-text articles, page images, abstracts and articles from leading magazines and journals.
Biography Index Past and Present
Indexes biographical information in over 3000 periodicals and books. Includes , bibliographies, Biography, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews.

1984-Present. Updated monthly. HW Wilson
Current Biography Illustrated
This database offers accurate, up-to-date biographies–drawing information from newspaper articles, magazine articles and books. Users can search by name, profession, place of origin, gender, ethnicity, birth/death dates, titles of works and key words for more than 25,000 articles and obituaries. H.W. Wilson

Opposing Viewpoints (DISCUS)
Thousands of pro and con viewpoint articles on contemporary social issues, topic overviews, primary sources, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs. Subjects: Current Issues
Full Text

New York Times Topics
"Each topic page collects all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files" about a range of topics.

Gale in Context: Opposing ViewPoints (DISCUS)
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
More than 400 reference book titles and over 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles

TOPICsearch
Explores social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

Academic Search Complete
Includes full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

GreenFILE
Includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Military and Government Collection
A collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent offering current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
Research Starters - Sociology
Research Starters Sociology articles are broken down into twenty-six categories, each of which contains between four and thirty-five article topics: aging & elderly issues, culture, history of sociology, social movements & collective behavior, sociology of religion, etc.

Humanities Full Text (HW Wilson)
Covers nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
Indexing: 1984 - present, Abstracts: March 1994 - present. Fulltext: January 1995 - present (96 titles).
Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson)
This source indexes about 400 English-language periodicals in a wide variety of subjects related to the Social Sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work etc. Indexing goes back to 1983.
February 1983 to the present. Updated monthly.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

Women's Studies International
Women's Studies International™ covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to the present.