Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you are experiencing problems with our guides, please contact Janet S. Ward,
email@example.com, Associate Professor and Web Services Librarian.
Internet Resources Help Guide
Historical Newspapers Links
NewsBank's Access World News Research Collection contains current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more with the world's largest collection of full-text news sources. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 4,700 sources.
Atlanta-Journal Constitution Historic Archives (1868- 2016)
Searchable from 1868-1945, you are able to view the abstract and citation of news reports. Note that we do not have access to the full-text articles.
Christian Science Monitor Historic Archive (1908-1980)
Searchable from 1908-1980, you are able to view news abstracts and citations. Note that we do not have full text access to articles.
Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers
"Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities external link and the Library of Congress."
Hartford Courant Historic Archive (1764-1984, 1992-present)
Searchable from 1764-1984 and 1992-present, you are able to view news abstracts and citations. Note that we do not have full text access to articles.
New York Times Archives (1851-1980)
Searchable from 1851-1980, you are able to view news abstracts and citations. If you create a free online account with NYT, you are able to view for free articles before 1923 and after 1986. Your monthly free limit is 20 articles.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis)
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative work-space with shared folders and annotated documents.
Washington Post Historical Archives (1877-1986)
Searchable from 1877-1986, you are able to view news abstracts and citations. Note that we do not have full text access to the articles.
Digital Primary Sources - Directories/Listings
Best of History Websites
“An award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1000 history web sites.”
“The Full Search feature allows you to quickly locate resources by topic, time period, keyword, or type.”
Librarian's Internet Index (History)
A collection of history websites compiled by the Internet Public Library
Eighteenth-Century Resources (History)
“Collection includes information on literature, history, art, music, religion, economics, philosophy, and so on, from around the world, as well as the home pages of societies and people who work on eighteenth-century topics.”
Ready, Net, Go!
This service provided by Tulane University is an archival "meta index," or index of archival indexes provided.
"Historical Voices is part of the Digital Library Initiative II funded in part by the National Science Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities. Historical Voices is one of the first fully functional, multi-media, interoperable digital libraries available online."
Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South
One hundred of the interviews have been digitized and made available on this site, with transcripts, totaling about 175 hours of recordings and 10,000 pages of text.
U.S. Federal Government Publications
Digital Primary Sources
A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns, 1787-1825
“A searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy.”
American Memory Project
These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
American Presidency Project
This archive contains 96,658 documents related to the study of the Presidency including: • The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913)
• The Public Papers of the Presidents:Hoover to G.W. Bush (1929-2006)& Obama (2009) • The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents:Carter - G.W. Bush (1977-2009) • The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents:Obama (2009-2011)
“A comprehensive collection of material about the Presidents of the United States and the history of the presidency.”
Ball State University Digital Repository
Contains a variety of digital sources. Browse collection by Subject, Format, etc.
Crossroads to Memphis
Crossroads to Freedom connects the world with Memphis history through an archive of documents, newspapers, images and oral histories. Our goal is to empower Memphians to tell the stories of our city and region as a vital aspect of participation in the future of our community.
Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum
Site includes digitized primary sources of speeches, personal letters, memorabilia among others.
Google is digitizing books and making all those outside of copyright -- mainly those before 1923, with some exceptions -- available online to read in full and download. Vast range of subject areas covered.
Historical Census Browser
“The data and terminology presented in the Historical Census Browser are drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing.”
"IA includes offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. The Internet Archive now includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages."
Library of Congress (American Memory)
“American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history."
Library of Congress - Finding Primary Sources
A link to the Teachers' Resource page for American Memory with more guided finding aids.
Library of Congress Digital Archive
Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services from the Library of Congress.
Making of America Books
"(MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The book collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books with 19th century imprints."
Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute
Includes free entree to the King Papers and the Online King Records Access, among others.
Perseus Digital Library
A large digital library of primary source works in history, science, and the humanities.
The oldest free eBook site. Works from the classical era into the 1900s. Many primary sources and reference works.
World Digital Library
"The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures from around the world on one site, in a variety of ways. These cultural treasures include, but are not limited to, manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings."
Primary Source Images
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
Flickr: The Commons
"The key goals of The Commons on Flickr are to firstly show you hidden treasures in the world's public photography archives, and secondly to show how your input and knowledge can help make these collections even richer."
Folkstreams: the best of American Folklore Films
"A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures streamed with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites."
HBO Archives: March of Time (Getty Images)
"From 1935 to 1967, Time Inc's newsreel series, "The March of Time®" chronicled the events of our lives. These award-winning motion pictures recorded global events and brought them to big screens around the world and then later, television. The collection also contains historic footage dating back to 1913."
LIFE Magazine Photo Archive hosted by Google
"Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google."
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
"NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more."
"The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery."
General (Online Catalogs and Finding Aids)
An online catalog of libraries all over the world. You are able to search for books, media, articles, archival materials, etc. and find out which libraries have the items you are looking for.
National Archives Archival Research Catalog
Search the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) for archival descriptions of materials and digital copies in their collection.
Historical Associations and Organizations
Southern Historical Association
“The Southern Historical Association's objectives are the promotion of interest and research in southern history, the collection and preservation of the South's historical records, and the encouragement historical societies in the South."