Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

EN 102 Argument and Research: Where Should I Go to Find...

Definitions

What's a Database? 

Library Databases are where our electronic resources (journal articles, news articles, videos, e-books, etc.) are stored and organized. Databases can cover multiple subject areas, like Academic Search Complete or cover only specific subjects, such as Business Source Complete and Criminal Justice Abstracts.  

There is rarely just one place to find sources of information, such as news or journal articles. There are many resources available to you through the library, such as the Library databases, and outside the library, such as Google. Be prepared to use several resources. This guide is intended to help you, but is by no means complete. There are so many different places to look for information that it is impossible to name them all, so use your best judgment and ask for help when necessary!

Where should I go to find....

(Note for many of the library resources you'll need to sign-in using your LC login information)

Source type:

In the Library:

Note:

Journal Articles Library Databases Learn how to use the Library Databases.
Newspaper Articles Library Databases Specifically try these databases which have newspaper collections NexisUniInfoTrac NewsstandAcademicOneFile
Videos Films on Demand

Has many videos suitable for academic research.

Legal Cases NexisUni Provides Legal Cases, Company/Industry research, & Newspaper articles
Books KATE Catalog and PASCAL Delivers

Search the KATE Catalog for our book collection.

Can't find the book you need in KATE?

Try PASCAL Delivers, where you can borrow books from other colleges.

eBooks EBSCO E-Books and EBL PASCAL Has many eBook resources in every subject
Magazine Articles Library Databases Also try these databases which have magazine collections InfoTrac Newsstand and AcademicOneFile
Trade or Professional Articles Library Databases a.k.a Professional Journals or Trade Publications
Source Type: Outside the Library: Note:
Journal Articles GoogleScholar Use the Google interface to search for academic articles
Newspaper Articles New York TimesNPRBBCWashington Post Here are a few suggestions, but visit your favorite, reliable news site as well.
Videos YouTubeTED Talks, News Sites, etc. There are many places to look for videos on the internet just be careful that your sources are reliable.
Legal Cases GoogleScholar You can search specifically for Case Law using the Case Law filter.
Magazine Articles Time, The New Yorker, National Geographic, etc. Here are a few suggestions, but visit your favorite, reliable magazine publication site as well.
Trade or Professional Magazine Articles Professional association websites (ex. NASW or ASJA) Search for professional associations in your field on a search engine and find their publications section for articles.

Chat with a Librarian!

If you are experiencing problems with our guides, please contact Janet S. Ward, jward@limestone.edu, Associate Professor and Web Services Librarian.