Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you are experiencing problems with our guides, please contact Janet S. Ward,
firstname.lastname@example.org, Associate Professor and Web Services Librarian.
Find History/Biography Articles Here
America History and Life
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Biography in Context (Gale in Context: Biography)
A comprehensive online biographical reference database also containing the complete Marquis Who's Who.
Biography Index Past and Present
"Biography Index: Past and Present features retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946, it combines retrospective coverage with current indexing."
Biography Reference Bank
"Wilson Biographies Plus contains more than 95,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 26,000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations."
Current Biography Illustrated (HW Wilson)
"This database offers the content of the printed monthly magazine Current Biography in a searchable, electronic format. Readers will be able to find accurate, up-to-date biographies–drawing information from newspaper articles, magazine articles and books."
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.
History Reference Center
This database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. It also contains nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 37,400 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Online reference includes access to American History, American Leaders, and Milestone Documents.
US History in Context
Provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
World History in Context
Provides reference content, academic and scholarly journals, and thousands of primary sources, images, and maps, integrated into a comprehensive, cross-searchable database.
Search for Journal Articles or More Here
Academic Search Complete
Includes full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
**For off campus access, you'll be prompted to enter your Limestone email username & password**
Chronicle of Higher Education
Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; salary databases, and more.
Educator's Reference Complete
For school teachers and administrators and those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty -- such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing.
Provides index and full text to journal articles, government studies, books, dissertations, and other material on education and related fields.
Professional Development Collection
"Professional Development Collection™ includes full text for more than 520 high-quality education journals including: Booklist, Education, Education Digest, Education Week, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others. This database also contains nearly 230 educational reports."
Student Research Center - High School Research
Designed for high school students, this database gives the prospective an idea of resources available at that level. Also, the Teacher Resource tab is helpful for searching multiple research databases at a time plus it has access to the curriculum standards of the US.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.