LibGuides: Social Work: Find Social Work Articles

Sample Searches

Try these sample searches:

race and income
(gays or lesbians) and policy
minorities and education

*Hint: You may want to use the Quotation marks to search for a phrase or to narrow your search

''populations at ris''

Recommended Databases for Health & Medicine

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL. Includes indexing for over 5,000 journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,460 journals. Access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, books, and research instruments. Rigorously curates and indexes open access (OA) journals.
Offers a growing collection of 1,447 active global OA journals high-quality subject indexing and precise full-text linking. Utilizes CINAHL Subject Headings, following the structure of the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. Helps researchers find new concepts, including topics like COVID-19, social distancing, and vaping.

DSM - 5 (print - fifth edition)
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition. The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers.
Health Reference Center Academic
Provides access to articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Find Social/Current Issues Articles Here

These databases provide a wealth of sources that explore a variety of social and current issues. They are also good starting points for browsing or choosing a topic for research on a social issue or problem. Especially recommended for EN 101 or EN 102 students.

Opposing Viewpoints (DISCUS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of pro and con viewpoint articles on contemporary social issues, topic overviews, primary sources, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs. Subjects: Current Issues
Full Text

New York Times Topics
"Each topic page collects all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files" about a range of topics.
TOPICsearch
Explores social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

Search Subject Specific Databases

Use these subject databases to narrow your search to specific fields, such as Criminal Justice, Education, Sociology, and Political Science. For complete list of databases, visit the Database Guide.

PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Contains over 5,000,000 peer-reviewed records, 2,400 journals, dissertations, AI and machine learning-powered research assistance, 144 million cited references, 600 years of content, and information is updated twice-weekly.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
ERIC
Provides index and full text to journal articles, government studies, books, dissertations, and other material on education and related fields.
Military and Government Collection
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent offering current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
Contains summaries of the more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
Political Science Complete
Contains full text for more than 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals. Has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage of more than 550 full text journals, including more than 525 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO.
Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This source indexes about 400 English-language periodicals in a wide variety of subjects related to the Social Sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work etc. Indexing goes back to 1983.
February 1983 to the present. Updated monthly.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the world’s literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. The database includes abstracts of journal articles selected from over 1,700 serial publications, abstracts of conference papers presented at various sociological association meetings, relevant dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, enhanced bibliographic citations of book reviews, and abstracts of selected sociology books.

Find News Articles Here

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NewsBank's Access World News Research Collection contains current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more with the world's largest collection of full-text news sources. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 4,700 sources.

Newspaper Source Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative work-space with shared folders and annotated documents.