Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you are experiencing problems with our guides, please contact Janet S. Ward,
email@example.com, Associate Professor and Web Services Librarian.
Online Instructional Resources
“User-friendly educational site that provides quality printable materials for immediate use by teachers, education majors, and parents.”
For educators and students. “Original content, including lesson plans, practical information for educators, information on how to integrate technology in the classroom, and articles written by education experts.”
“Contains a deep archive of continually updated best practices, from classroom tips to recommendations for districtwide change.” Created by the George Lucas Foundation.
Free online learning resource that provides custom learning for students.
Open Educational Resources Commons is a free resource that allows you to create your own lesson plans and use instructional content from their collections. Content includes game-based learning, arts integration, and STEM literacy.
Read Write Think
Works to "provide educators and students with access to the highest quality practices and resources in reading and language arts instruction through free, Internet-based content.”
Videos, discussion questions, quizzes, etc. that can be used in classrooms. You can also create customized lesson plans around a TEDTalk.
Teaching News & Media Literacy
The News Literacy Project
A national program that aims to equip middle school and high school students with the tools to be smart, active consumers of news and information and engaged, informed citizens.
Project Look Sharp
"[A] media literacy initiative of Ithaca College that develops and provides lesson plans, media materials, training, and support for the effective integration of media literacy with critical thinking into classroom curricula at all education levels, including integration with the new common core standards."
Center for News Literacy: Curriculum Toolbox
Provides free resources for both educators and citizens for teaching news literacy (Stony Brook University School of Journalism).