The following databases are recommended for doing research in History. Find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, as well as ebooks and other sources. For a full list of databases, visit the All Databases page.
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.
Contains reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, as well as historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and historical video.
Covers nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities, including literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion & theology.
Indexing: 1984 - present, Abstracts: March 1994 - present. Fulltext: January 1995 - present (96 titles).
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Supports the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
1972 to present
Finding History Journals
Search for a specific journal or browse all journals (by Title or Subject) by going to our Journal Searchpage.
Features a variety of pieces that deal with every aspect of American history, including state-of-the-field essays, broadly inclusive book reviews, and reviews of films, museum exhibitions, and Web sites. (Peer-reviewed)
Peer reviewed articles about history. Articles cover a wide geographical & time span - from the early middle ages to the twentieth century - & cover a variety of approaches to history, including social, political, urban, intellectual, & cultural history.
Original articles of interest to a wide readership in the fields of North American, European, African, Asian, Australian and South American history that make a significant contribution in fact or interpretation selected by blind review. (Peer-reviewed)