The Limestone University Library is committed to providing library materials and services to all users. If you are an individual with a disability and need accommodation, please inform the library staff via e-mail: library@limestone.edu. The library provides location and retrieval of library materials; photocopy services; and research assistance.
The Limestone Library's website is accessible. The databases (available through the website) contain thousands of accessible journal articles. Please contact the librarians at library@limestone.edu or 864-488-4612 with any questions about electronic accessibility.
If you need assistance retrieving any printed material from the library stacks, the staff at the Library Helpdesk will help you - depending on staff availability. You may arrange to have materials ready for pick up by an agreed upon time, within 24 hours notice (Monday-Friday).
If you are unable to come to the library due to a disability, contact the Library Helpdesk at 864-488-4612 to designate a person who will retrieve the material for you.
If you require extended borrowing time, inform the circulation staff when you are checking out materials.
If you are unable to make photocopies, please contact the Library staff at library@limestone.edu or call 864-488-4612. Materials will be photocopied, as staffing permits and by an agreed upon time, with 24 hours notice.
The Limestone University Library has an elevator to access all floors of the library. There is an emergency phone inside the elevator. Please contact the library at 864-488-4612 or library@limestone.edu for elevator access.
The Limestone University Library restrooms are located on the first floor to the right of the entrance when facing the stairs and on the second floor facing the stairs.
The majority of the library databases come from three companies, EBSCO, Gale and ProQuest. These database vendors are compliant with Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act and/or W3C WAI WCAG 2.0. They also provide information about their accessible features.
Please contact the Web Services Librarian at jward@limestone.edu, 864-488-8351 or 864-488-4612 if you are experiencing difficulties with any of our databases or online resources.
All EBSCOhost databases provide a text to speech option for HTML Full Text articles, though many articles are not available in HTML. When you have located an article, click on HTML Full Text and there will be an option to listen. You can also download these audio files in MP3 format.
Newer PDFs in EBSCO are ADA compliant. EBSCO Publishing began providing its scanned PDFs with an Optical Character Reader (OCR) text layer in September 2004. For assistance with older pdfs, contact the reference librarians at library@limestone.edu or 864-488-8351.
For more information:
Gale Databases (such as Academic OneFile or Opposing Viewpoints in Context) provide a Listen function for full-text articles. Wherever the Listen icon is present, there is the option to have the document read aloud. The Listen tool also allows you to download the audio file as a MP3.
For more information:
ProQuest databases contain many PDFs which are ADA compliant. However, older content was created from scanned images of original text that is not accessible to screen readers. This content is identified throughout ProQuest with the label 'Scanned image PDF.' For assistance with older pdfs, contact Web Services Librarian at 864-488-8351 or jward@limestone.edu.
The following databases provide policies or statements which express ADA compliance.
This link opens in a new windowCLOSED CAPTIONS
If this option is available, a CC button will appear in the video control panel. Click on this button to toggle captions on and off. You may also create an account and set your personal preferences to always show closed captioning.
INTERACTIVE TRANSCRIPTS
Interactive Transcripts are also available for many videos. Interactive transcripts allow you to view the full text of the video, search within the full text, or click on any word in the transcript to jump to that exact point in the video.
At Alexander Street, our motto is, “Making silent voices heard.” This motivates us on many levels—from creating space for marginalized voices within our collections to unearthing and digitizing rare and inaccessible archival content to making our content accessible to all. We believe that all students and researchers, regardless of dis/ability, deserve to find and use Alexander Street content with ease, and in doing so empower their voices.
Our products’ website design complies with the best practices, recommendations, and standards as defined by the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.0) of the World Wide Web Consortium (WC3), Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI), as well as the requirements set by Section 508 of the U.S. Rehabilitation Act.
While not required, our JAWS implementation handles all the features of our platform, enabling sight-impaired students clear navigation of our platform and resources. In addition to the searchable, synchronized transcripts that run alongside our videos, at any given time, more than 80% of our films also include on-screen subtitles (not including archival material such as Dutch newsreels, silent film, and primary footage). We move our videos to the streaming platform rapidly, to give users immediate access. In many instances, if a video isn’t captioned, it’s because we’re adding the on-screen text as we go.
Accessibility is an ever-changing and vitally important issue, and Alexander Street is committed to being a leader in this space.
Here are the accessibility goals we strive for daily:
Films On Demand (Infobase) ADA Useability Statement
Films on Demand provides either closed captioning or interactive transcripts for all of its videos on the platform.
CLOSED CAPTIONS
If this option is available, a CC button will appear in the video control panel. Click on this button to toggle captions on and off. You may also create a Films on Demand account and set your personal preferences to always show closed captioning. Films on Demand provides instructions for setting closed captioning as a default. While most Films on Demand videos contained closed captioning, not all do. You can use the Advanced Search feature and limit your search only to videos that provide captions.
INTERACTIVE TRANSCRIPTS
Interactive Transcripts also available for many videos. Interactive transcripts allow you to view the full text of the video, search within the full text, or click on any word in the transcript to jump to that exact point in the video. Films on Demand provides instructions and a video tutorial for using their interactive transcripts. If you prefer this format for videos, you can use the Advanced Search feature to limit your search only to videos that provide interactive transcripts.
Support materials for individuals with disabilities are provided whenever resources are available from the content providers. Often times this may be limited to captioning or subtitles. If a Swank film does not currently have captions or subtitles, we will inquire as to the availability from our studio partners and order when available.
Learn about the accessibility features by watching this video.
A copy of our VPAT is available for download: Click here for the Swank MP VPAT.
Closed captions for specific films are indicated with the standard “CC” icon, when available, on both the watch page and title preview (shown below). If closed captions are required but not indicated as available for a particular film, please contact your organization's Swank representative to see if captions are available to be added.
Shared Shelf (full title is Shared Shelf Commons), our open access digital platform that showcases student and faculty works, is transitioning to a new website where they will be performing a full WCAG 2.0 audit (which encompasses the new Section 508 standards) to determine what changes are needed to make their website compliant. They plan to start conducting their audit in six to nine months.