Skip to main content

History - Primary Resources

Federal Courts

 

FINDING COURT DECISIONS IN MICHENER LIBRARY

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) - this online service provides the Library's primary access to legal information of all kinds, including state and federal caselaw, state and federal codes, full text access to over 100 law reviews, law related articles from newspapers and news magazines, access to Shepherd's citations, patent research and more.

********************

Indexes to articles from Law Reviews:

Court Decisions - Indexes and Digests:

  • American Jurisprudence (Ref JK1517 A42)
  • West's Colorado Digest (Ref KFC1857 W47)
  • West's Education Law Digest (Ref KF 4110.3 W47)

Federal Court Reporters


U.S. Supreme Court decisions are reported in:

1. United States Reports

  • Sample Citation: 410 U.S. 113
  • Michener Location: Government Documents Federal J 6.8:

2. Supreme Court Reporter

  • Sample citation: 93 S. Ct. 705
  • Michener location: none - however, the full text access is available from Nexis Uni.

3. Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers Edition. 1st and 2nd series.

  • Sample citations: 100 L. Ed. 1415 or 35 L. Ed., 2nd 147
  • Michener location: Ref K 1517 .U5

4. Supreme Court Briefs and the Transcripts of Oral Arguments are available from the U.S. Supreme Court Website (http://www.supremecourtus.gov/index.html)

U.S. Court of Appeals decisions are reported in:

1. Federal Reporter

  • Sample citation: 488 F. 2nd 1134
  • Michener location: we don't carry this title, however, the full text access is available from Nexis Uni (click on 'legal research, then select 'US Caselaw' - Federal Reporter citations can be used as search terms).

U.S District Courts (also U.S. Courts with special jurisdictions, e.g. Tax Court, Claims Court, Customs, etc.) decisions are reported in:

2. Federal Supplement

  • Sample citation: 361 F. Supp. 1288
  • Michener location: we don't carry this title, however, full text access is available from Nexis Uni (click on 'legal research, then select 'US Caselaw' - Federal Supplement citations can be used as search terms).


STATE COURTS


Nexis Uni - full text access to decisions of all state high court and appellate court decisions. Click on 'legal research', then 'state caselaw'.

Colorado Supreme Court decisions are reported in:

  • Sample citation: 200 Colo 151
  • Michener location: Government Documents COLORADO SC 1/1890-1980
  • Sample citation: Colo, 612 P. 2nd 1130
  • Michener location: Government Documents COLORADO SC 1/1980-
  • Colorado Supreme Court homepage (http://www.courts.state.co.us/supct/supct/index.htm) - Colorado State Supreme Court back to 1998.

Colorado Court of Appeals decisions are reported in:

  • Sample citation: Colo, 612 P. 2nd 1130
  • Michener location: Government Documents COLORADO SC 1/1980 -
  • See the Colorado State Court of Appeals homepage (http://www.courts.state.co.us/coa/cooaindex.htm) for decisions of the Colorado State Court of Appeals back to 1999.

COUNTY, LOCAL COURTS


County Courts and specialized courts such as Civil, Family, Probate, etc. decisions are reported in:

Decisions are usually unpublished. If the case goes to higher court, look for a summary of the lower courts decision in the higher court decision, in a law review article, an article from a local newspaper, etc.

If you are experiencing problems with our guides, please contact Janet S. Ward, jward@limestone.edu, Associate Professor and Web Services Librarian.