Skip to main content

Proquest ABI/Inform Collection: Full Record: Citation & Abstract

A guide to all aspects of ABI/INFORM Collection including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Citation & Abstract Tips

1. Record Tool Bar

When viewing a full record, use one of the tools to work with the item.

Add to selected items lets you mark the record and create a list of items to work with later on.

Save to My Research adds the records to your My Research account where they will be stored and available each time you sign in to the My Research account.

Email or Print any marked items.

The Cite tool generates a bibliography in any of the supported styles available from the pull-down menu. Copy and paste the generated bibliography into a document and make any necessary edits. Remember to always check for accuracy.

Export items into a bibliographic manager like RefWorks (subscription and account required) or to the RIS file format. Exporting moves a copy of the record out of ProQuest and into one of the bibliographic managers or supported file formats.

Save is used to save the records as a PDF, RTF, HTML, or a text only file. Choose to include the level of record detail you want to save and a citation style. A permanent link to each document will also be saved with your file.

Tags are relevant words or phrases that you assign to items in ProQuest to help you organize your research and classify items. They can be made private or public and you can add as many tags to a document as you like. In order to create tags, you must have a My Research account, but you do not have to have a My Research account to view tags created by other users. For additional information, please see the My Research section of this guide.

2. Share

The Share button allows you to share links to documents with other ProQuest users via social networking sites. Move your mouse over the button to display and select from a list of featured available services. With the list displayed, click More... to display a complete list of available services.

3. See Similar Items

Click on See similar items to display five suggested items that are related to the current record. ProQuest analyzes the keywords in the full record and then suggests similar items. To see more similar items, click Next 5.

4. Other Formats

When you select to view the Citation & Abstract format of the full record, you will see links to Full text - HTML and/or Full text - PDF, if full text is available. Each record will contain links to the available document formats and any linking tools that the library administrator has enabled to help locate the full text. Please consider that not all records have full text available from ProQuest and you may only have a link to view the Citation & Abstract (the full record). If your library has enabled tools to locate full text for you, you may see additional links here.

For an example of a ProQuest full text - HTML record and a ProQuest full text - PDF record, please see the Full Record sections of this guide.

5. Abstract

The Abstract provides a summary of the document and may include a translate option. ProQuest will translate the abstract from English to any of the 14 languages currently supported. When you click Translate, a disclaimer will advise you that this is an "on-the-fly" machine translation and is not intended to replace human translation.

6. Intellidocs

The Intellidocs link appears next to a company name that is indexed in the Hoover’s database. Clicking on the company name or Intellidocs icon takes you to the company profile available in Hoover’s. The company profile contains information on company history, financials, people, products, and competitors. Hoover’s is a component of the ABI/Inform Collection database and can also be searched through the Data & Reports page by selecting company profiles. For additional information on searching Hoover’s, please see the Data & Reports Search section of this guide.

7. Full Text - HTML

If Full text in HTML format is available, this is located within the Citation & Abstract full record view. To display the full text, select the full text icon under the Other formats section of the full record. There may also be an option to translate the full text. ProQuest will translate the abstract from English to any of the 14 languages currently supported. When you click Translate, a disclaimer will advise you that this is an “on-the-fly" machine translation and is not intended to replace human translation.

Please see the Full Record sections of this guide to see an example of the Full text - HTML format.

8. Indexing

The Indexing section displays the other indexed fields that did not appear at the top of the record. The indexed fields are also known as searchable fields. One exception is the Document URL field and this is not part of the searchable fields list, but instead provides a link to the full record. This is a persistent or durable URL that you can bookmark or save to give you access to the full record at another time.

Please see the Searchable Fields section of this guide for a complete list of fields.

9. Tags

In this section of the full record you can view any tags that have been assigned to the records and assign your own tags.

Tags are relevant words or phrases that you assign to items in ProQuest to help you organize your research and classify items. Tags can be made private or public and you can add as many tags to a document as you like. In order to create tags, you must have a My Research account, but you do not have to have a My Research account to view tags created by other users. For additional information, please see the My Research section of this guide.

When you make tags public and share them with other ProQuest users, it may be several hours before the tags are picked up by the ProQuest search engine.

Full Record: Citation & Abstract

If you are experiencing problems with our guides, please contact Janet S. Ward, jward@limestone.edu, Associate Professor and Web Services Librarian.