LibGuides: SW 101 Intro to the Helping Professions: Find Social Work Articles

Find News Articles Here

AP News Monitor
- This link opens in a new window
AP News provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis.

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NewsBank's Access World News Research Collection contains current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more with the world's largest collection of full-text news sources. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 4,700 sources.

Newspaper Source Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative work-space with shared folders and annotated documents.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL. Includes indexing for over 5,000 journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,460 journals. Access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, books, and research instruments. Rigorously curates and indexes open access (OA) journals.
Offers a growing collection of 1,447 active global OA journals high-quality subject indexing and precise full-text linking. Utilizes CINAHL Subject Headings, following the structure of the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. Helps researchers find new concepts, including topics like COVID-19, social distancing, and vaping.

DSM - 5 (print - fifth edition)
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition. The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers.
Health Reference Center Academic
Provides access to articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Opposing Viewpoints (DISCUS) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of pro and con viewpoint articles on contemporary social issues, topic overviews, primary sources, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs. Subjects: Current Issues
Full Text

New York Times Topics
"Each topic page collects all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files" about a range of topics.

Gale in Context: Opposing ViewPoints (DISCUS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
More than 400 reference book titles and over 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles

TOPICsearch
Explores social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.

To access all of the Library's Research Databases, Click Here. (updated content coming soon!)

Social Sciences Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
Contains summaries of the more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
Military and Government Collection
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent offering current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
Political Science Complete
Contains full text for more than 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals. Has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
Research Starters - Sociology
Research Starters Sociology articles are broken down into twenty-six categories, each of which contains between four and thirty-five article topics: aging & elderly issues, culture, history of sociology, social movements & collective behavior, sociology of religion, etc.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center (DISCUS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facts On Files Career Guidance Center provides a complete career research database of jobs, skills, resources, and search-able entries on scholarships, internships, fellowships, and more.