Skip to main content
site header image

BA/EC 570 Managerial Economics: Find Company Information

Resources to assist MBA students.

Company Information Overview

Welcome to the Company Information Section. Each business database gathers information a little differently and has different options for limiting and using the information it contains. When researching a company or an industry, it is usually a good idea to use more than one database to find information.

A quick link panel is provided below to the left. See the individual box for each database on this page for descriptive information about what it contains. 

Contact a member of the library staff for help in navigating, choosing, or citing the business databases: library@limestone.edu.

Looking for industry information? Some of these databases include industry information -- see the Industry Information tab (above) for the most complete and relevant listing of industry information databases. 

Business Databases at a glance (Company Information)

Databases that contain General information on Companies, Stocks, and Business Leaders:

  • Including raw data and company reports 
  • Official 10-k Reports 
  • Company Profile and Leadership Profiles

Databases that contain full text articles:

  • Includes Peer-reviewed articles and Trade Journal publications
  • SWOT Analyses and other company reports

Hoovers Online

Hoover's Online

Company information include:

  • Description/History
  • Rankings
  • Key People
  • News & Press Releases
  • Key Financials
  • Recent Market Analysis
  • Stock Quote
  • Industry Information

View Tutorial on how to search for company information in Hoover's:

Business Insights: Essentials

Business Insights: Essentials

Find information on U. S. and international  companies. Each company's profile includes:

  • Financial Data
  • Legal Issues (Suits/Claims)
  • Management
  • Operations & Technology
  • People
  • Products & Services
  • Sales & Marketing
  • Statistics
  • Strategy & Planning

View Tutorial on how to search for company information.

ABI/Inform Complete

ABI/Inform Collection 

Visit the ABI/Inform Collection Library Guide

Search ABI for the following::

  • SWOT Analyses 
  • Annual Reports
  • Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Business Articles
  • Business Trade Journals and other publications
  • Includes Peer-reviewed articles and Trade Journal publications
  • Wall Street Journal Articles 

You can also conduct an all market research for the company that will reveal:

  • Industry Reports
  • Market Reports
  • Relevant Articles

MergentOnline

MergentOnline

  • Find US and International Company Data
  • Includes Active and Inactive companies.
  • Executive Profiles
  • Company Reports
  • Government Filings
  • Create Custom Reports

Search Tips for looking up company information using MergentOnline

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Includes Comparative Company Analysis within the industry that discusses:

  • Revenues
  • Profit Ratios
  • Net Income
  • Balance Sheet Ratios
  • Equity Ratios
  • Per-Share Data

 View  How To Search S&P NetAdvantage

 

Nexis Uni Academic

Most company entries contain:

  • Overview (including hierarchy, i.e., parent & subsidiaries)
  • News articles (including news by region of the world)
  • Financials
  • Legal Information (cases)
  • Analyst Reports

You can also Compare Companies.

Chat with a Librarian!

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete

 

Company information comes from Datamonitor and includes:

  • Company Overview
  • Key Facts
  • Business Description
  • History
  • Key Employees and Biographies
  • Major Products and Services
  • Top Competitors
  • Locations and Subsidiaries
  • SWOT Analyses 


Look for company information by clicking on the Company Profiles tab at the top.

Acknowledgement

This page of the guide is adapted from Susquehanna University's Business Bibliograhy LibGuide

US Securities and Exchange Commission (Documents)

If you are experiencing problems with our guides, please contact Janet S. Ward, jward@limestone.edu, Associate Professor and Web Services Librarian.