LibGuides: SW 203 Introduction to Social Work as a Profession: Find Articles/Databases

Recommended Journals

Journal of Social Work Practice: Provides a unique forum for the application of current understanding of unconscious processes to social work practice with individuals, couples, families & other caretakers. (Peer-Reviewed)

Child & Family Social Work: Concerned with research, theory, policy and practice in the field of social work with children and their families. (Peer-Reviewed)
Journal of Social Work Education: Cover education in social work and social welfare. (Peer-Reviewed)
Social Work Research: Publishes articles, review articles and commentary focusing on social work and practice-based research, evaluation and research studies contributing to knowledge about social work issues and problems. (Peer-Reviewed)
Journal of Ethic and Cultural Diversity in Social Work: Dedicated to the examination of multicultural social issues as they relate to social work policy, research, theory & practice. (Peer-Reviewed)

Search Subject Specific Databases

Use these subject databases to narrow your search to specific fields, such as Criminal Justice, Education, Sociology, and Political Science. For complete list of databases, visit the Database Guide.

PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
ERIC
Provides index and full text to journal articles, government studies, books, dissertations, and other material on education and related fields.
Military and Government Collection
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent offering current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
Contains summaries of the more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
Political Science Complete
Contains full text for more than 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals. Has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage of more than 550 full text journals, including more than 525 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO.
Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This source indexes about 400 English-language periodicals in a wide variety of subjects related to the Social Sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work etc. Indexing goes back to 1983.
February 1983 to the present. Updated monthly.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the world’s literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. The database includes abstracts of journal articles selected from over 1,700 serial publications, abstracts of conference papers presented at various sociological association meetings, relevant dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, enhanced bibliographic citations of book reviews, and abstracts of selected sociology books.

SW 203 Introduction to Social Work as a Profession: Find Articles/Databases

Recommended Journals

Search Subject Specific Databases

If you are experiencing problems with our guides and databases, please contact ProfessorJanet S. Ward, jward@limestone.edu, Assistant Director of the Library and Web Services Librarian.