Skip to main content
site header image

Limestone College Archives

Archive Policies

Collection Policy:

The Limestone College Archives includes (but is not limited to): catalogs, yearbooks, minutes, correspondence, reports, promotional material, publications generated by the college community, administrative, fiscal, legal documents of historical value and any other material that documents the activities and history of Limestone College as it relates to Cherokee and Spartanburg counties, and South Carolina. 

The Archive committee has the right to turn down materials that are in a format they can not handle (certain sound or computer files), that might endanger the rest of the collection (mold, mildew), and that are outside the scope of our collecting policy.

We accept only limited quantity of artifacts or realia—space and resources permitting.

Regulations:

  • The Limestone College Archives will be accessible to the library staff, the College Historian, the College President.  Other individuals interested in using the archives must apply for permission from either the archive custodian, director of the library or the college historian.
  • Access to the College Archive is by appointment only. All researchers and visitors to the archives are required to sign in at the front desk for access.  The Archives are available for use only during normal business hours.
  • All personal items such as brief cases, pencils, pens and laptops must be left upstairs. Food, drink, smoking, cell phones or personal scanners are not permitted in the archival rooms.
  • Records will be brought to the reading room for viewing by the Library Staff.
  • All materials must be handled with great care, and kept in order. If a filing error is suspected, researchers should report it to the Library Staff.
  • Articles may be photographed at the discretion of the staff.
  • Researchers will be expected to wear cotton gloves (provided) when examining the material.
  • Please consult the College Historian for instructions on bibliographic citations.

Evaluation:

The following questions guide the reappraisal and possible subsequent weeding of materials in the department:  

  • Does the material fit within the collection development policies and mission of the Archives?
  • Would the collection strengths of the department suffer if the material were weeded?
  • Are there duplicates of the material in the collections?
  • Has the physical condition of the material deteriorated to the point that it can no longer be preserved?
  • Is the Archives capable of providing proper storage and care for the material? Does the material require continuous special treatment?
  • Is there a donor agreement or other legal stipulation that might impose restrictions on weeding?
  • Has the donor’s original desire for the collection been honored?
  • Has an item been found to be inauthentic (is the material forged or otherwise misrepresented)?
  • Do restrictions on use prevent the material from being effectively used for research and education?
  • Would weeding the material limit public access to the information presented in that material?

Disposal:

  • Archival materials will be disposed in the following way, according to the appropriate circumstances:
  • Materials may be transferred to another institution.
  • Materials may be discarded in a proper and safe manner appropriate to the material.
  • Materials may be sold; all proceeds are to be disposed of according to college regulations.
  • Books or other published works may be offered to the library’s general circulating collections, if appropriate.

Disclosure:

The department will share upon request, according to its guidelines, information about the reasons behind the weeding of material to appropriate parties and how that material will be disposed of.

Copyright:

The Library complies fully with all of the provisions of the U.S. Copyright Law (title 17 U.S. Code) and its amendments.  The library strongly supports the Fair Use section of the Copyright Law (17 U.S. Code, 107) which permits and protects citizens’ rights to reproduce and make other uses of copyrighted materials for the purposes of teaching, scholarship, and research.

If you are experiencing problems with our guides, please contact Janet S. Ward, jward@limestone.edu, Associate Professor and Web Services Librarian.