Skip to main content
site header image

Accessibility at the AJ Eastwood Library

The Library's list of ADA Compliant resources.

Home

Universal Access to Library Materials

The AJ Eastwood Library is committed to providing library materials and services to all users. If you are an individual with a disability and need accommodation, please inform the library staff via e-mail: library@limestone.edu. The library provides location and retrieval of library materials; photocopy services; and research assistance.

Library Facilities

Accessibility Services

Hours of Operation

Locating and Retrieving Library Materials

The AJ Eastwood Library's website is accessible. The databases (available through the website) contain thousands of accessible journal articles. Please contact the librarians at library@limestone.edu or 864-488-4612 with any questions about electronic accessibility.

If you need assistance retrieving any printed material from the library stacks, the staff  at the Library Helpdesk will help you - depending on staff availability. You may arrange to have materials ready for pick up by an agreed upon time, within 24 hours notice (Monday-Friday).

If you are unable to come to the library due to a disability, contact the Library Helpdesk at 864-488-4612 to designate a person who will retrieve the material for you.

If you require extended borrowing time, inform the circulation staff when you are checking out materials.

Photocopy Services

If you are unable to make photocopies, please contact the Library staff at library@limestone.edu or call 864-488-4612. Materials will be photocopied, as staffing permits and by an agreed upon time, with 24 hours notice. 

Library Directory

Elevators

The AJ Eastwood Library has an elevator to access all floors of the library.  There is an emergency phone inside the elevator.  Please contact the library at 864-488-4612 or library@limestone.edu for elevator access.

Restrooms

The AJ Eastwood Library restrooms are located in the Curriculum Lab (basement) and the first floor.

Databases

Contact

ADA Accessibility Features in Major Databases

The majority of the library databases come from three companies, EBSCOGale and ProQuest. These database vendors are compliant with Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act and/or W3C WAI WCAG 2.0. They also provide information about their accessible features.

Please the Web Services Librarian at jward@limestone.edu, 864-492-8079 or 864-488-8351 if you are experiencing difficulties with any of our databases or online resources.

EBSCO

All EBSCOhost databases provide a text to speech option for HTML Full Text articles. However, many articles are not available in HTML. When you have located an article, click on HTML Full Text and there will be an option to listen. You can also download these audio files in MP3 format.

Newer PDFs in EBSCO are ADA compliant. EBSCO Publishing began providing its scanned PDFs with an Optical Character Reader (OCR) text layer in September 2004. For assistance with older pdfs, contact the reference librarians at library@limestone.edu or 864-488-8351.

For more information

Gale

Gale Databases (such as Academic OneFile or Opposing Viewpoints in Context) provide a Listen function for full-text articles. Wherever the Listen icon is present, there is the option to have the document read aloud. The Listen tool also allows you to download the audio file as a MP3.

Gale database listen image

For more information

ProQuest

ProQuest databases contain many PDFs which are ADA compliant. However, older content was created from scanned images of original text that is not accessible to screen readers. This content is identified throughout ProQuest with the label 'Scanned image PDF.' For assistance with older pdfs, contact Web Services Librarian at 864-488-8351 or jward@limestone.edu.

Other ADA Compliant Databases (Links to policies)

The following databases provide policies or statements which express ADA compliance.

eBooks

EBSCO

Ebook Central (Proquest)

Springer

Streaming Video

Films on Demand (Infobase)

Films On Demand (Infobase) ADA Useability Statement

Films on Demand provides either closed captioning or interactive transcripts for all of its videos on the platform.

CLOSED CAPTIONS

If this option is available, a CC button will appear in the video control panel. Click on this button to toggle captions on and off. You may also create a Films on Demand account and set your personal preferences to always show closed captioning. Films on Demand provides instructions for setting closed captioning as a default. While most Films on Demand videos contained closed captioning, not all do. You can use the Advanced Search feature and limit your search only to videos that provide captions. 

INTERACTIVE TRANSCRIPTS

Interactive Transcripts also available for many videos. Interactive transcripts allow you to view the full text of the video, search within the full text, or click on any word in the transcript to jump to that exact point in the video. Films on Demand provides a instructions and a video tutorial for using their interactive transcripts. If you prefer this format for videos, you can use the Advanced Search feature to limit your search only to videos that provide interactive transcripts. 

Shared Shelf

Shared Shelf

Shared Shelf (full title is Shared Shelf Commons), our open access digital platform that showcases student and faculty works, is transitioning to a new website where they will be performing a full WCAG 2.0 audit (which encompasses the new Section 508 standards) to determine what changes are needed to make their website compliant. They plan to start conducting their audit in six to nine months.

Apps for Accessibility

If you are experiencing problems with our guides, please contact Janet S. Ward, jward@limestone.edu, Associate Professor and Web Services Librarian.